ASA National Award for Teaching and Lecturing in Anthropology

The Association of Social Anthropologists of the UK and the Commonwealth (ASA) welcomes nominations from ASA members for its annual Award: Teaching and Lecturing in Anthropology. This award valorises the contribution made by those teaching anthropology at all levels (including postgraduates who are significantly involved in teaching activities). The award provides the recipient with a year’s free membership of the Association and £100 book token, as well as giving public recognition to their teaching achievements. The award will be announced at the ASA’s annual conference (in Oxford in September), and noted on its website and in other media.

The selection process and criteria

Those nominated must be significantly involved in teaching Anthropology in a UK or Commonwealth institution. They must be nominated for the prize by a member of the ASA, who should submit a short letter of recommendation directly to the ASA Committee at networker(at)

The award panel will be comprised of the ASA Committee. The prize will be awarded to the nominee who, in the view of the panel, has provided the highest quality teaching, and contributed the most to the positive learning experience of students in Anthropology in the current academic year..

Guidelines for submission for the prize

The applicant should submit a statement of no more than 500 words explaining why the candidate is deserving of the award. Evidence should be provided in one or more of the following areas:

  • positive contributions to learning and teaching
  • use of innovative teaching strategies
  • meeting the needs of the diverse student population
  • sharing of good teaching practice with colleagues
  • stimulating independent learning and critical thinking

The applicant may also submit supporting evidence, such as copies of recent formal and informal feedback from students or peer reviewers. The letter of nomination, candidate’s statements and supporting evidence should be submitted no later than 30th June 2018 to networker(at)

Previous prize winners

2015: Dr Mike Poltorak (University of Kent)
2013: Joint award to Department of Sociology, Philosoophy and Anthropology, University of Exeter (Sam Hurn, Ann Kelly, Tom Rice, Katharine Tyler); Jason Hickel (LSE)
2012: Cate Degnen (University of Newcastle), Sam Hurn (University of Wales, Trinity St Davids)
2011: Fenella Cannell (LSE)